Zika Virus: update

The European Centre for Disease Control advises that 41 countries currently have widespread transmission of Zika virus. These countries are American Samoa, Argentina, Aruba, Barbados, Bolivia, Brazil, Cape Verde, Colombia, Costa Rica, Curaçao,  Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Fiji, French Guiana, Guadeloupe, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Jamaica, Marshall Islands, Martinique, Mexico, Micronesia, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Puerto Rico, Saint Lucia, Saint Martin, Saint-Barthélemy, Samoa, Suriname, Togo, Trinidad and Tobago, US Virgin Islands, Venezuela, Vietnam.

Sporadic transmission (no more than 10 locally transmitted cases report within the time period) is note in the following countries: Anguilla, Belize, Bonaire, Grenada, Indonesia, Papua New Guinea, the Philippines, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Sint Maarten and Thailand.

Further information can be found on the ECDC's website 

General information on the Zika virus, as well as the Club's FAQ document can be found on the Club's Zika information page

Staff Author