UK P&I Club wins Excellence in Safety and Training award at the Lloyd's List Europe Awards

The UK P&I Club won the Excellence in Safety and Training award at the Lloyd's List Europe Awards presented on Tuesday 10th December at the Hilton Hotel, Park Lane, London. 

The Club was proud to be among such an illustrious group of finalists in the safety category:

Excellence in Safety & Training: 
Sponsored by DP World

  • Sovcomflot
  • The Mission to Seafarers
  • The "Together in Safety" Coalition
  • UK Chamber of Shipping
  • UK P&I Club
  • Wallem Group
  • Wilhelmsen Ships Service

The Club won for its Lessons Learnt programme. Lessons Learnt is freely shared on the Club's website and is accessible to all. The videos provide an interactive training experience with a focus on educating crew members on common marine accidents and how to prevent them in future using real-life examples.

The programme has received excellent feedback from UK Club Members as well as from further afield, with the videos frequently being referred to or reused by a large number of high profile shipping publications, thus transporting their safety message far and wide. The videos are aimed at providing an inter-active learning experience for seafarers of all ranks by examining thought provoking incidents as well as suggesting actions which may have prevented them from happening or to mitigate their consequences. At the end of each video, the seafarer is invited to reflect upon lessons learnt arising from the incident and how they could apply to their own shipboard working practices or systems. The videos are designed to be short and to the point, leaving sufficient scope for both seafarer and trainer to consider the underlying root causes of the incident. 

Produced by Seattle-based company, Maritime Training Services (MTS), to date the videos have been downloaded from the Club website over 20,000 times and the loss prevention team regularly use the videos as part of their crew training workshops.

The videos can be viewed on the website here.

Staff Author